The Wassail Song DBC ’09 #3

I heard this song growing up and didn’t know what the heck wassail was.  There is this memory stuck in my head of a Christmas special where all the Christmas songs were messed up and I couldn’t figure out what wassail was once the song was corrected.  I digress.

After Kathy and I met I fell in love with wassail (and Kathy), her mom makes it every year over the holidays.  There have been times where I carried my mug around all day full of wassail.  There is no telling how much I drank those days, and we never seemed to run out.  Recently we have been making it at home at night and I the other night saw Alton Brown make it with alcohol (hence the ale part of the name I guess) and eggs.  I guess either I was blind to its popularity for a long time, or it is a new fad because I see it all over the place.

There seems to be great variation in recipes here is ours.  Note that we don’t really measure it is done to taste.

-Apple cider (or juice)
-Mulling Spice (from the bulk section of HEB)
-Cinnamon Stick (from the bulk section of HEB, if no has stolen it again)

Heat all ingredients together over stove in a pot or in some other heating device for a while (normally until it bowls or you just can’t take smelling it and must drink it).  Cindy has used a percolator and it worked great.  If you want to share your recipe in the comments that would be great with me.  Who knows I might adjust my our recipe.–Dirk

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Wassail Song DBC ’09 #3

  1. Robin

    My mom always make this punch at Christmas. It’s tasty.

    Cranberry Percolator Punch

    Combine in a 6-8 cup percolator:
    2 cups cranberry cocktail juice
    2-1/2 cups unsweetened pineapple juice
    1/2 cup water
    1/3 brown sugar

    Place in basket of percolator:
    1-1/2 tsp. whole cloves
    1-1/2 tsp. whole allspice
    3 cinnamon sticks (broken)

    Place basket in position and let perk for 15-18 minutes.

    Nom nom nom.

  2. The Littlefields

    Sounds tasty!

  3. Jamie

    Whats a percolater?

    Also, it’s the 12th. This post is from the 10th. I’m not judging but I happen to know that you are sitting on the couch watching a movie and sipping cocoa. I think you could squeeze in “honor your commitment to the DBC” even with all of that going on. I’ll just leave it at that.

  4. The Littlefields

    I would like to note that I was not sitting on the couch watching a movie. Twilight is not something that I will ever watch….EVER. I was typing a blog post. I figure I might have to go longer to get all the posts in, but I’ll do it. –Dirk

  5. Grommy

    What I use is a huge coffee pot that makes 48 cups or holds 2 gallons of cider. Has the spicket to fill your cup………it is labeled for WASSAIL ONLY…no coffee in that pot!
    I put all the spices in the basket and let it percolate, letting the. cinnamon sticks float around…..I just tried cranberry/raspberry juice and it is really good……..instead of the cider.

Leave a Reply

