HALLELUJAH! DBC ’09 #1

This is one of the challenges that I do enjoy because it forces me to actually write posts for the blog.  We talk about doing more here and we may possibly add our own blogs and turn this into one for family stuff, maybe.  I digress.

Today I finished my 9th semester of seminary, yes that would be in year #5.  Most of us here at SWBTS – Havard are on the “extended” plan.  I don’t know of many people who get out in less than 5 and most are 6, 7, 8, or 9 years.  To make myself feel better about the semester I am going share a few of the things I learned from 2 class, 2 papers, and 3 exams.

NT1
-Writing a paper on the logos in John chapter 1 and its necessity is more difficult that you would think.   I was shocked to not be able to find the amount of sources I wanted.

-There is a whole movement of multicultural churches going on in several denominations and my professor work hard in that movement.

-I learned the value of actually sitting down and making myself learn what every chapter in Acts is about.  You should all try it, I find it most helpful and plan on doing that for all the books of the Bible.  Don’t judge me that I haven’t done that yet.

-Memorizing the beatitudes is one of the most humbling things you can do and will make you really ponder the seriousness of your Christian walk.

Genesis
Former college and NFL football players can be professors despite the number of hits they took.  David Klingler (former UH and NFL quarterback) taught this class and was finishing his PhD dissertation at the same time.  That dude can read the Hebrew text almost as fast as I can read it in English!

-My Hebrew needs a little practice.  I need to use it more than once a week.

-Genesis is rich with theology and I don’t know how I read scripture correctly without a firm grip on that book.  If you haven’t studied I suggest that you do.  I can point you to some resources if you need them.

-Knowing what happened in each chapter helps bring the book together as a cohesive unit and took away the idea that the stories weren’t connected.

-Writing a 10-12 paper explaining the thesis: “the story of Genesis is about the beginning of the creation of an obedient nation Israel out of whom will come the promised one” is doable but very hard.  That could have easily been a 50 page paper.

Now that it is over, I would say it was a good one.  But I am really glad it is over.–Dirk

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

