Gag: Another ‘6 Random Things About Me” Post

I have to admit that I love silly little email surveys or being tagged on the blog for any of variation of them. Karen* tagged me for ‘6 Random Things About Me’, and I’m pretty sure this is at least my third time to do it. She sent out the challenge over a week ago, but since I take these things seriously, I have needed that long to come up with 6 MORE things that you dont know. Here’s what I got:

Here are the tagging rules:

  1. Post the rules on your blog
  2. Write 6 random things about yourself
  3. Tag 6 people at the end of your post
  4. If you’re tagged, DO IT and pass on the tag

Here goes:

1. I have a mental calendar in my head. Its not the the typical flip-through-the-one-hanging-in-your-kitchen-visual either. Its actually pretty elaborate. Up until about a year ago, I thought this was normal-most people have some visual of the year in their head, right? Apparently not. See, mine is in the shape of an oval, like a track around a stadium. The straight sides are January thru May, and the other side is August thru November. The curves are made up of June and July on one side, and December on the other. Since tomorrow begins September, we are 1/4 of the way through one of the straights. When I think of a date–say March 22, 2009–I look across the track from where I am ‘standing’ to the other side where March is. Weird?? I dont think so. The only other person I have found that has a visual like this is Dirk–and only after I found out that most other people think that its really weird. I wont go into how I see centuries or weeks; I think this random enough for now.

2. I am a Merchandiser for American Greetings. I have two Walmarts in my area that I am in charge of, and I go once or twice a week to check their supplies, receive AG boxes, resolve any problems with management, and stock the product on the shelves. It is really, really easy, and its fun to get dressed up and get out of the house once a week. It only takes a few hours of my time during each week, and Josiah enjoys that time with my mom playing and taking his nap.

3. Dirk’s family is involved in agriculture, and that means I know a little bit more about cotton farming, wheat harvesting, cattle branding, wind farming, tractor repairing, and land leasing than the average suburbanite. I realize that anyone in Dirk’s family reading this is probably laughing to themselves since I actually know very little, but that just goes to show how little the rest of us know. I used to explain modern cotton farming practices to my 8th grade US History classes and could answer most of their questions.

4. I find security in transition. That is a weird statement, but thats the only way I can put it. Dirk and I have always felt like we were going to be doing something else very soon–like we weren’t where we ultimately will end up yet–we still feel that way. We are always in transition. I actually don’t mind it a bit. Whenever I get despondent about everyone we know owning a house but us, I start to ask myself: Where would I want that house to be? Where will be feel like we are ready to stay for good? What would we be doing? Would it be something we are ready to commit the next 10, 15, or 20 years? After I think through my answers to that, and I’m not ready to say with confidence that where we are is where we would be ready to stay forever, it cures me out of being depressed about not having other people’s lives. I love where we are and I love waiting for the next thing that the Lord has for us.

5. I’ve really been into Jason Mraz lately. Random.

6. I am 11 weeks pregnant now and during this time I have not wanted any coffee. *GASP* When Dirk makes it at home, I usually think it smells gross. If I do drink it, it has to be something made by the baristas at Starbucks since I dont want to mess with the milk(gag!).

*Karen, since there is no title to your 6 Random Things post, I can’t link directly to it!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Gag: Another ‘6 Random Things About Me” Post

  1. Jamie

    I find #6 most shocking. What’s next? An aversion to onions????

  2. I’m not sure I completely understand your track calendar, but I find it very intriguing nonetheless.
    We have the second Jason Mraz cd and I totally dig it. Do you have the new one?
    I too have a coffee aversion this pregnancy. It’s tiring.

  3. The Littlefields

    I forgot to tag people to do 6 random things: Jamie Robin, Rebecca(you girls will have to dig deep too), Misty, Bethany, Ashley, Heather, Casey P, Patti, Traci, and Jenny. Dont disappoint me!

  4. Robin

    I was just telling my husband what colors I associated with different letters, numbers and words were the other day. He thought I was weird.

  5. Traci

    I totally have a calendar in my head too! My aunt’s “head” calendar (we’ve discussed this several times before) is much like yours – oval – but I’m not sure of the placement of the months. Mine is more in a straight line with January being at the top and December at the bottom. So the new year always seems further away for me…. And my century calendar…. too complex to explain.

  6. The Littlefields

    Traci–Ok good, I was really starting to wonder about myself–I’m glad to know there are others out there. The placement of the months make more sense with you think of the months and cycles of a school calendar, its really based around that. Next bookclubapalooza we need to compare notes about the centuries(I think mine looks like your year calendar)

    Jamie–No worries, I still love onions!

    Patti–I only have the “We Sing We Dance We Steal Things” Album

  7. Robin

    Do you think there will ever be another book clubapalooza?

  8. Jamie

    I hope there is another book clubapalooza! Kinda waiting on you, Robin!!!

    As for tagging me, I don’t know if there is anything left to divulge that is fit for public consumption.

    And let me say again, I think everybody’s whole calendar/number/color thing is weird. Because I have no such system. And I am most cerainly not weird. So it must be you guys.

  9. Robin

    Business trips to Texas are not up to me. They are up to the boss.

    Maybe he reads our blogs and wanted to stop financing book clubapaloozas.

  10. Heather Rowlett

    Your aversion to coffee is pretty normal during pregnancy.

    Pregnant women tend to avoid bitter things while pregnant, as things in nature that are bitter tasting are often poisonous. Black coffee tends to have an extremely bitter taste(smell while brewing). Thus your like of Starbucks concoctions could also be explained by this idea as they are mixed into something sweet smelling/tasting.

    I’m sure you probably already know this, but just for kicks and giggles I thought I’d let you know.

    And the green in Josiah’s room is the same green Andrew and I have in our bedroom-he’s color blind so I got to choose the color, and I find green to be very calming…..must be the whole raised in the NW thing. 😉

    Loves.

Leave a Reply

