My Wonderful Husband

I know its been a while since I’ve posted about our life and the fun pictures and anecdotes about Josiah, so I will get on that soon, but first I need to let you know about my amazing husband.

Don’t roll your eyes, he really is that wonderful!

We found out about a month ago that I am pregnant–Oh yeah, I’m pregnant!*–and this one has been a doosey. During Josiah’s pregnancy, I craved everything, and ate like a horse. I had pretty regular morning sickness but I was able to function on a normal work schedule. However, the past couple weeks have been so difficult to function. I have no energy, no appetite, and I have had very strong nausea and morning sickness. I’ve already lost about 4 pounds from all the side effects. My aversion to most foods has left me lethargic, sleepy, and highly sensitive to pretty much all smells.

I know this is completely normal to some, but to me its been pretty hard to deal with especially since I had been getting up with Dirk in the morning to help iron his clothes and pack his lunch and occaisionally make coffee.

 I could say it has been hard on Dirk that I haven’t been up with him in the morning, but he hasn’t once complained about it. He has been extremely supportive and caring.  The past few weekends–and even some mornings during the week–he has gotten Josiah up, changed his diaper, fed him breakfast, and played with him all morning until I could open my eyes. He also has prepared his lunch–which has been seriouslly making me ill–and most dinners with out being asked. He has been so attentive and kind while I loaf on the couch trying not to throw up. He has done laundry, cleaned the kitchen, bathed Josiah, made coffee, and pretty much been the best husband I could ask for, without ever asking.

I think the most wonderful thing that he has done was last night. I worked myself up to finally cook a complete meal for us and I was able to do most of it without feeling too ill. We sat down to eat and something about the chicken made me gag. I ran to the bathroom a few seconds too late, and needless to say, that was the end of my meal. Dirk finished eating with Josiah while I took a shower and He comforted Josiah when he freaked out about what was wrong with ‘Mama’. Then, he cleaned up all that needed to be cleaned (gross, I know. I appologize for the graphic nature of this story, but I want to express the depth of his love for me and servant’s heart.) and then laid down with me to watch the Olympics. 

I wanted to share that I am so very blessed!!

* I dont mean to skirt the wonderful blessing of a new child, but I didnt want to pass up telling about my supportive and generous husband. We are so excited and thankful for another child and we ask that you would partner in prayer with us for a healthy pregnancy! The due date is March 22, 2009.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “My Wonderful Husband

  1. Robin

    Aw, that’s sweet. Way to go, Dirk.

    And again, congratulations!

  2. Amy

    Congrats, you guys! What an exciting blessing! We will praying for you during this time…I know exactly how you feel with the morning sickness. That is how I was with Afton. I lost weight because of my morning sickness. I really hope your’s subsides. Miss you guys!

  3. Yay! I was curious since I saw your Facebook status about being nauseous. So we’re only about 2 weeks apart! I also know someone else due on March 22nd. Yay March! 🙂

  4. karen

    Just as I suspected!! I am so happy for you guys!! Yay!

    As far as the morning sickness, I had it pretty bad too my first trimester. Although I never understood why is was called “morning sickness” since I had it all day long! Have you tried eating ginger (ginger snaps or crystalized ginger are good)? It is a little home-remedy that worked for me a bit. I remember only being able to eat dry waffels and Nilla wafers for weeks though.

    Don’t worry, it will go away soon enough! =)

    Yay for more babies!

  5. GranGran Weaver

    My precious daughter-in-law! I love you so much. Thank you for sharing about Dirk and your love for each other. I can’t begin to tell you how much it has blessed my heart to read these words. I love you so much. I can’t wait for this baby too! Maybe since the pregancy is starting off soooooo different, then it will be a girl!!! Brentz is a good name!!! Love you both,
    GanGan

  6. What joy to add to your family! I hope the smell aversion and nausea end quickly. It’s funny how you don’t realize the multitude of smells you deal with on an hourly basis when tending to a toddler until your body becomes sensitive to it!

  7. Traci

    So you weren’t kidding about nausea not being exciting – yikes! Dirk is quite the man. Once, when I was sick, Wade held my hair back while I puked. I really hope in a month or two, this passes and you can enjoy the pregnancy! What a blessing….

  8. Jen

    Congratulations and prayers as you make it through this stage!

  9. Ralph

    First time to read this post so Congrats!

    And thanks Dirk for setting the bar really high for all guys whose wives are pregnant! LOL!

Leave a Reply

