So sad

Sunday morning was Josiah’s last time with his pacifer. I hadn’t really planned on cutting him off that day, but I knew it was coming and it seemed like as good a day as any. When he went down for his after-church nap, there was no more paci there for him. I knew he wouldnt go down without a fight, so I cut the tip of it while he was wailing in his room so I could show him that it was ‘broken’.

broken

 Of course wailing is not a strong enough word. He was hysterical that he didnt have his pacifier for his nap. Let me just say that Josiah’s paci habit was pretty well managed. He only used it for sleep and he always dropped it in the crib before I picked him up. The only problem was that he would cry out at any hour of the night if he woke up without it. Every. single. night. It was pretty annoying, not to mention the fact that he was not getting any uninterrupted sleep–and neither was I.

So I just went for it on Sunday, not knowing Josiah’s deep attachment to that little piece of plastic. He has a blanket and an Elmo in his crib at night, but they don’t hold a candle to that pacifier. I wont go into the sad hysterics or deals he tried to make with me to get it back, but tuesday night was the first night that he–both of us–slept through the whole night without any wake ups.

I did cry a few tears, not for his pacifier, but for the way his world–his little world–was rocked by the disappearance of his pacifier. He doesnt fight naps, and he goes to bed peacefully without it so I guess we are over the hump. Poor little guy.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “So sad

  1. karen

    poor baby josiah! i am glad he is doing better now. =)

    evelyn has recently decided to suck her fingers to put her to sleep and has started to regected the pacifier. i guess i can’t just cut off the tips of her fingers when we are ready to give them up, huh?

  2. I’m so proud of you! I hate seeing 3-4 year old kids walking around with a pacifier. Way to do it before he can yell at you about it. 🙂

  3. GranGran Weaver

    I am sad. Growing up is hard on little boys. He just needs my kisses! Can’t wait to get to see ya’ll. I will come see your new apartment when you get settled.

  4. The Littlefields

    Thanks for the encouragement! Josiah is doing GREAT now. He is a great sleeper again and now there are no interruptions!! Woohoo!

  5. By the way, you totally need to go visit my blog.

  6. I really liked this post, Kathy…we have pretty much the same story about Helene, about 14 months ago. She only used her paci for nap and bedtime as well, and it was great how she didn’t struggle with going to bed as soon as she popped it in her mouth…and then when we picked her up out of her crib she would pull it out of her mouth and toss it back in the crib. So cute!
    I know how you feel when you say you cried a little. I have cried a little over each thing Helene has left behind…breastfeeding, the bottle, the paci, the crib. It took me a really long time to get used to seeing her in her bed b/c she just looked so tiny in it!
    I hope you all are doing well.

Leave a Reply

