The Biggest Loser–Family Edition

Yesterday my sister proposed that our family compete in our version of the Biggest Loser. We all at various times have complained about a few inches we’d like to shed so she thought we should compete with each other. We’re all in. We are going 8 weeks with no pills or purging–just good old fashioned diet and exercize. We are competing as couples and will total our percentage lost to declare the winner. It should be fun.

We are going to kick it off at my sister’s birthday gathering on Saturday by weighing-in after we have had our meal and are sufficiently stuffed. That way we won’t feel bad about what we will be consuming together that day.

My tactic? Well, through some creative blog surfing I found this site  about raw diets and it really got me thinking. Is it really possible to have some much energy you can only sleep 3 or 4 hours at night? I’m so intriguied. I know that I will not be able to go to extremes because a)my family would disown me(let’s face it, I’m weird enough as it is), b) I dont think we can afford as much fresh produce as it requires even if we had our own garden, and c) I like coffee and meat too much. So I think will just try to encorporate as much fresh produce as I can into my daily diet cut my meat intake by half. I get plenty of protein anyway.  I might even start running jogging again.

Why am I posting this on a blog? Well, I know you aren’t dying to know about my weight loss competition but I do it so that I know you know. And knowing that you know will make me want to have something to show for it–just in case you ask. Its another tactic, I suppose.

I resolved a while back to not obsess anymore about my body size. And I don’t want to obsess about the scale either, but I definitely could stand to lose about 15-20lbs to be at a comfortable BMI.  So what am I going to do until Saturday? We joked about bulking up, and I definitely did my share last night with my steak dinner. I suppose I will just enjoy my meals and savor my desserts for the next few days. I’ll let you know how it goes.

–Kathy

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Biggest Loser–Family Edition

  1. Jamie

    How fun! I think it is smart to make it a competition–intrinsic motivation is so overrated!

    So what does the winner get?

  2. The Littlefields

    Bragging rights. Thats reward enough around here–I have a feeling the competition will be fierce.

  3. Beth

    The next time I see you, you will see less of me!
    Go ahead and give up now….

Leave a Reply

