Happy Birthday to Me!

Today I celebrated my birthday with Josiah. We comemorated this day by not doing any laundry, or packing any boxes. While Josiah napped (for 2 and a half hours!) I read blogs and Robinson Crusoe without any guilt. Then after he woke up and hand lunch he graciously accompanied me to a local used bookstore and Barnes & Noble to blow some of my birthday money. I picked up the following:

The Exile by Pearl S. Buck(used)
The Death of Ivan Ilych and Other Stories by Leo Tolstoy(used)
Tortilla Flat by John Steinbeck(used)
The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton(used)
Middlemarch by George Eliot(used)
O Pioneers! by Willa Cather
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
Charlotte’s Webb with Stuart Little and the Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White (for $6!)
Sister Bernadette’s Barking Dog by Kitty Burns Florey
A Great Improvisation by Stacy Schiff

I’m very excited about my new books, but this means I need to get to reading! I have monthly books with my book club and the Puritan Reading Challenge to keep up with before I can get into any of these gems. I’m really trying to finish books I start as this is a bad habit of mine.

Back to reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Jamie

    2 1/2 hours! What a gift! Hope your birthday continues to be great 🙂

  2. Robin

    Fun day!
    I have The Exile and Tess of The D’Urbervilles in the pile beside my bed.

    And I really want to read Tortilla Coast! Actually, I want to read all of Steinbeck’s stuff now.

Leave a Reply

