Birthday Date

Last night(Friday) Dirk and I went on a fabulous date to celebrate my upcoming birthday on Monday. My parents were so kind as to let Josiah have his first sleepover at their house, and we went off to live it up in the Woodlands. We first went to Kirby’s Prime Steakhouse where we had some wonderful, wonderful steaks. Its so great when a place can get your medium-rare just right. Yum. I highly recommend this place. Its one of those places that the waiter will put your sweetener in your tea for you and scrape the crumbs off the table. The service is excellent and the food is worth every penny.

Then, since this was my birthday date night, we went to Borders to walk around for a while. This is not something Dirk really likes to do, so it was exciting for me. I picked up two new books that I have had on my list of books to get for a while: What to Eat by Marion Nestle, and The Education of Henry Adams by himself. Then, we checked in to the timeshare in Conroe, and drank some coffee and read! This only reveals my nerdiness, that this is what I would like to do on a dream date, but what can I say?

I checked in a couple times to see how Josiah did with my parents, and he did great! I’m so proud of him. He slept great, and didn’t miss a beat. We are happy to know that he can adjust pretty well to new situations. I woke up at 5 and then 6 and thought I wouldnt be able to go back to sleep since this is around the time that Josiah usually wakes us up for his morning bottle. Fortunately, sloth kicked in and I was able to go back to sleep until closer to 8. Dirk even took me to Panera after we got up so that we could have [sub-par] coffee and breakfast and read some more. Ah, it was great.

When we got back to Kingwood, Joisah had just woken up from his nap was having fun with Grommy and Poppy. I ws ready to scoop him up and give him lots of kisses. Being away for a night was fun, but it was even better coming back.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Birthday Date

  1. Jamie

    yay! I’m glad you had a good birthday dream date!

  2. Rebecca

    It sounds like you had a great time! Happy Birthday! I hope you have a great day today!

  3. Robin

    Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

