Martin Luther King Jr. Day

As we pulled into the empty public library parking lot it dawned on me that this was MLK day.  I knew it was because I wasn’t at work, but I hadn’t thought about it at all.  I respect the work that Dr. King did, however I’m disappointed that it wasn’t all for the name of Christ.  Now before you go and jump all over me let me recommend his autobiography that was edited by Clayborne Carson.  Mr. Carson took Dr. King’s writings and turned them into one of the best autobiographies I’ve ever read.  I really like much of Dr. King’s writings and his unique way of rebuking white supremacists that claimed and made a mockery of Christ.  While his work for racial equality is second to none and we as a country are deeply indebted to his long labor; I wish I could say with certainty from reading this book that he was a Christian.  Several places in his book point to his rejection of points of Christian orthodoxy and while he may have come back to the historical orthodox Christian beliefs; I didn’t find it in this book.  That aside I can’t encourage you enough to read his autobiography.  I am thankful my seminary church history professor Miles Mullin who required me to read it. 

This was not my first book to read about the civil rights movement.  In college I was required to read Warriors Don’t Cry  by Melba Patitllo Beals.  I have loved them both and hope that you read them and never forget our history so that we can stay away from those mistakes in the future.

Wow, 2 posts in 2 days–Dirk

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

