2 things to post about…no wait 3

I haven’t posted since the new year began so I probably should.  First, at TMS some of the staff members are going to participate in a biggest loser challenge.  I’ve never actually seen the TV show, but from what I understand people lost weight to win the game.  Well naturally I would like to be back to a former weight and I know quite a bit about wellness etc (I just don’t apply it), so I decided to play.  At first my sinful nature starting thinking of all the ways I could inflate my weight at the first weigh-in without actually gaining any weight (all those things we athletic trainers hate to see athletes do).  But then my conscience kicked in and I know that isn’t right.  So now I have to find a healthy way (so I can set an example as the health teacher) to win this game.  Why must I win you ask?  50 participants, $10 entry fee, winner take all.  You do the math.  I am going on a strict eating and running schedule for the next 8 weeks to lose the largest percentage of body weight and win this thing.  I enlisted Kathy and so we’ll be doing this together, please watch for updates.  The bad thing is that I lost about 5 pounds the last 2 weeks….not a good way to start.  Maybe I can eat some Crisco tomorrow to gain it back…..just kidding.

Second, while Kathy was gone running this evening Josiah and I ran across a most interesting Daystar television show.  Both the man and woman claimed to be pastors.  Yup not a good start.  (If you don’t see a problem with a woman as a pastor I would recommend reading 2 Timothy and Titus and check out this article)  The first thing I heard the man say was “many people are scared of prosperity.”  Now that got my attention.  I new immediately that these two were going to be teaching that the Bible says we as Christians should be rich.  Then here it came.  He said he gets asked “Pastor, I tithe, give extra, live the Christian life, why am I not prospering?” Finally someone called them out on their lies.  He then commenced on a less than helpful rant about “first fruits,” as he called them.  It pretty much a veiled way of saying we should give money to him and to the lady (who was the TV show host).  HMMMMM…….it sounds like a plan for those two to prosper and not the poor soul asking the question.  I can’t help but to here Paul’s words ringing in my ears:

NAS 2 Corinthians 11:25 Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, a night and a day I have spent in the deep.

Call me crazy but that doesn’t sound like a guy who was prospering.  Was he a failure?  Do any of the NT Christians prosper financially?  I’m not seeing this teaching as anything but a hinderance to the gospel.

UPDATE:  John Mark commented about this article in relation to the prosperity gospel.  Paula White is listed as one of the people being investigated by the senate and it was her TV I was watching.  I won’t even begin to talk about the implications of the government looking at church stuff, financial or other.  It would take several posts to understand the church-state implications of this investigation and I honestly don’t want to spend the time writing about that.

Finally, I’ve been working on translating Romans and I have been amazed at some of the things and want to share.  In Romans 1:14 Paul talks about being a debtor to the Greek and barbarian and to the wise and foolish.  It seems at first reading that this statement isn’t that significant, but it is.  Paul has not only made a full and complete transformation from is former self he is proclaiming that the Gospel is for the Gentiles and he isn’t ashamed of it.  In fact he is eager to preach to all who are in Rome.  That isn’t too earth-shattering to most people.  But what I have found to be is his use of the word debtor to describe his relationship with the non-Jews not only in Rome but the world.  Why debtor?  That normally indicates that they have given something to him he must pay back.  That, however,  is not the case, they did nothing of the sort.  He is a slave to Christ and a called apostle (Rom 1:1) to the Gentiles therefore his life is endebted to preaching to them.  This is why he uses the term and it is humbling. 

 Well there ya go, I posted.  –Dirk

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “2 things to post about…no wait 3

  1. Johnmark

    this is an interesting goverment investigation in to some Prosperity “ministries” its accutally interesting stuff.

    http://www.alternet.org/stories/72539/?page=1

Leave a Reply

