Geocaching

I am officially announcing my nerdiness. 

Some of you already know that I am a nerd and others will now know.  In October of last year my school district send me and another science teacher from my school to an in-service on the Global Positioning System (GPS).  Most of you will be familiar with these devices called “TomTom’s” or “Magellan’s” or “Garmins” or “direction thingies.”  The first three are brands and the last just a fun name.  When we left that day we both received a GPS handheld receiver (for the school, I own one now), digital camera and all kinds of info.  I totally loved the day.  Learning about random things like trilateration and the uses of GPS is a love of mine.  If I could just pick learning channels on cable I would have it. 

One of the websites we learned about that day was the official Geocaching website.  Geocaching is basically a worldwide hide and seek game.  People hide caches all over the place and give the longitude and latitude coordinates for others to use to find the hide.  Some are very cleverly camouflaged and others are not, but either way I find it to be a blast.  I love the thrill of the hunt and planning involved.  It is a good way to satisfy my itching to hunt dove.  I am going to try to add stat bar to this blog so that you can keep up with the number of finds that I have. 

Before you judge me and think that I am crazy go check out the site and get a GPS reciever.  I’d love to go caching with you some day!–Dirk

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Geocaching

  1. Robin

    I’m glad you have a GPS of your own now! I bet that will be a lot of fun for Josiah when he gets a little older.

  2. Mike Thompson

    We used to cached for real in the Army–underground supply depots, ammunition, etc. They’re all over Western Europe. The idea was to have supplies available whether retreating or advancing.

  3. That’s an expensive toy for a hobby. Although I still say it sounds fun. 🙂

  4. The Littlefields

    I didn’t pay that much for it. I only paid $50 on e-bay. I’m cheap.–Dirk

Leave a Reply

