Can you follow all of the rules of the Bible?

This was the task of A. J. Jacobs an agnostic who decided for an entire year he would try not to break a probition in the Bible and write a book about it.  This task mean that he carried around a 700 entry list with him to help him remember what I can assume would be most of Leviticus.  I was hopeful that in reading this story Mr. Jacobs would have seen his depravity and responded to the Gospel of Christ spelled out so beautifully in the New Testament…didn’t happen.  I suggest that read the story here, it is interesting.

Here is one of the quotes just to give you a taste of where he stands theologically now:

“One of the lessons of the book is, there is some picking and choosing in following the Bible, and I think that’s OK.”

May this story be a reminder that we need to continue to strive to preach the truth of the Cross through the entire Bible.  Let me know what you think of this guy’s experience–Dirk

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Can you follow all of the rules of the Bible?

  1. Robin

    Hmmm…interesting.

    Maybe he didn’t intend for it, but the whole things sounded like a big joke. He just treated everything so flippantly, but I guess that is expected.

    I pretty came up with the same conclusion as you – that we need to preach the truth of the whole Bible and not have a “cafeteria religion.”

  2. Robin

    Oh, I’m also glad that I don’t have to try to follow all of those rules myself.

  3. The Littlefields

    Yeah I agree that it became a joke. The more I study the Bible the more I see that it is imperative that we preach and teach the Gospel through the entire Bible. I do like the term “caferteria religion” it seems to fit way too many evangelical churches.

    And yes, I am glad that I don’t have to keep all of those rules. I don’t think I’d look good in a huge beard and long hair. Although I want to grow a beard this winter, it will be groomed.

    I look forward to your return to the blogosphere as more than a commenter–Dirk

  4. Pingback: World Book Encyclopedia A « The Littlefields

Leave a Reply

