Another Learning Opportunity

I have decided to periodically post on educational opportunities that you can take from the comfort of your home.  I earlier posted on Biblical Training.org and now on to Covenant Theological Seminary.  Covenant is one of the  Presbyterian Church of America’s (PCA) seminaries.  Let me forewarn you that I don’t agree with some of the things that PCA teach and believe theologically (i.e. paedobaptism).  I do however know that they have the gospel correct and that they work hard to advance a good, solid, Biblical Gospel.  On this website they offer 21 free courses for anyone to take.  I have not yet taken any of them, although I intend to some day.  I think that the courses on Francis A. Schaeffer would be very interesting along with the Calvin’s Institutes and Midieval Church History classes.  If you get a chance you should check them out.  If you do, please let me know what you thought of them.  I think that we should all continue in our education either by formal means like being enrolled in classes, or informally through free lectures and books. 

If you are wondering when you will have time for this let me recommend a couple of things you can do.  I personally listen to lectures and sermons while I am training for the half marathon.  If you don’t run let me suggest what my friend Tom Woods does.  He loads up lectures on his MP3 player and listens to them on his way to work.  Or you can burn them to a CD (if you have a compatible CD player in your automobile).  And lastly, you can substitute learning for the time spent watching the television……yup I said it.  I figure I may be one of the most unpopular people in the world now because I suggested not watching your nightly does of shows.  Don’t get me wrong, I love TV.  In fact at one point in my life on my days off I would watch almost as much TV as there were hours spent awake.  I now have weaned myself from it and it is nice to not have it on all the time.  Before you come to behead me just know I still watch it, and sometimes too much.  But I have resolved not to let myself get addicted or consumed by any one show or the concept of the TV.  All I am suggesting here is one way to build in time to your day to first and foremost study God’s Word and then to study things that will help you in that study.  Happy learning!–Dirk

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

