Bread Woes…

One day at my parents’ house, Dirk and I noticed their old breadmaker sitting tucked away in a cabinet. Since they weren’t using it, we asked to borrow it and make some fresh bread. Since we are both trying to be healthier we bought whole wheat flour. Apparently whole wheat flour is heavier and makes denser bread. Or maybe its us. Either way, this is the outcome of our bread meaking endeavors:

Bread shot

bread shot 2

Its the same height, and length on every side. This makes for very small pieces. We have made about 4 or 5 loaves but they all look pretty much the same. The recipe book says if this happens to go to a health food store and buy some ‘vital gluten’ I don’t know what that is, but its worth a shot. I’ll let you know if it works!

Any ideas? Robin? Rebecca?

–Kathy

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bread Woes…

  1. Grommy

    I bet it smelled good!

  2. dirklittlefield

    Oh it did!! And it tastes great, but its just so DENSE. A little bit goes a long way!

  3. Yum, I love fresh baked bread!

    But I can’t believe you are asking me about it.

    I did look it up on the internet, and supposedly adding the vital gluten (or wheat gluten) will help your bread rise (you know – fermentation of gases) and keep its shape (coagulation – yum!). You should give it a try and let us know how it goes.

  4. Rebecca

    That is funny! I have NO experience with bread makers! I bet it did smell really good!

Leave a Reply

