Hooray for booksales!

Saturday was the annual “Friends of the Library in Kingwood” or F.O.L.K. booksale. Dirk actually encouraged me to go to this one (which means he really wants me to be able to get out of the house, normally he would try to bar me from going and bringing more books into the house). I originally went to look for children’s books for Josiah, but since I have only limited experience in that area, I had no clue what would be good and useful for him. Also, Until he’s a little older I guess its probably not a good idea to expose him to so many germs when he’ll definitely be putting the books in his mouth.

BUT, I did get some good books for me and for Josiah when he gets older. This past year and a half I’ve been wanting to read more classics–the books that show up on all the lifetime reading lists–or ones I read in high school. So this was a GREAT place to buy them. I onlt spent $12.50! Here are the books I bought(in order of how I pull them out of the sack):

Our Town, Thorton Wilder (I saw this play In high school and didnt “get it”)

Master and Commander, Patrick O’Brian

Billy Budd and Other Tales,  Herman Melville

Doctor Faustus, Christopher Marlowe

Macbeth, Shakespeare (Shakespeare Made Easy Edition)

A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Shakespeare (Shakespeare Made Easy Edition)

To Kill a Mockingbird,  Harper Lee

Beowulf

Night, Elie Wiesel

Lord of the Flies, William Golding

Les Miserables, Victor Hugo

Spoon River Anthology, Edgar Lee Masters

50 Great American Short Stories, Authors include Faulkner, Hawthorne, Twain, Poe, Hemmingway, and lots of others

The Canterbury Tales, Geoffrey Chaucer

Animal Farm, George Orwell

Dubliners, James Joyce

A Raisin in the Sun, Lorraine Hansberry

A Few others that I dont think are considered classics that I got:

Cold Mountain, Charles Fraizer

Inventing a Nation, Gore Vidal

When the Legends Die, Hal Borland ( I read it as a junior)

 Ok, so maybe these books really are for me since Josiah is not even six-weeks old, but I’m planning on keeping them and building a library for him so he–and his future siblings, Lord willing–will have all these great books at their fingertips. 

I dont know when I’ll get to read these in the next year or two, but I’m making it a goal so read one a month. We’ll see how it goes…

 –Kathy

 AUTHOR’S NOTE: Looking at this list now, I see that a lot of these books/plays may not be considered classics, they are just books I had to read in high school–there IS a difference. I just wanted to reread them or own a copy of each for future use.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Hooray for booksales!

  1. I wish I could have gone to the sale!

    And you bought my personal favorite book, Les Miserables. That’s one I’d like to read again someday. Hope you can find some time soon to read.

  2. Actually, I just finished Lord of the Flies this morning! It only read while I fed Josiah, and I got it finished in 3 days! Crazy. I’m encouraged to read more! I’m little intimidated by the sheer size of Les Miserables! I don’t even know if I can hold it up with one hand! –Kathy

  3. Jenny

    Wow. I have read a lot of those books. Some are really good, others, I will let you decide.

  4. Jenny Smith! What are you doing blogging at 4:36 am!?!

  5. Did you get the abridged version of Les Mis? I read the short one first and loved it! I tried reading the long one, and I read quite a bit and had no idea what was going on.

    I think I may attempt it again someday, but we’ll see.

  6. I’m pretty sure its the full version since its about as big as my copy of Don Quixote that I never finished. If YOU think it was confusing, then I think I’m in trouble.

    Side note: I also finished To Kill a Mockingbird and I’m almost done with Animal Farm. I was going to pick up the Autobiography of Martin LutherKing Jr, but I picked up ababy book that looks interesting, so I’m taking a detour for a little bit.

  7. How was Animal Farm?

  8. Animal Farm was great. I love how he explains and criticizes the Russian Reolution so clearly–it makes it so easy to understand and it is a great story. I love the ending–how the pigs turned into men–just fabulous. –Kathy

Leave a Reply

